Skip to content

Twitter User Has Experience Worth Talking About

January 9, 2011

Hunter Meyers, a Twitter user in Los Angeles, CA, actually had an experience that may be of interest to other people yesterday; a feat yet to be achieved by any of the site’s 190 million users. “I was walking out of a Starbucks because there was a sale at American Apparel,” said Meyers, “and I saw Osama Bin Laden on Wilshire Boulevard. My first thought was: ‘Twitter must hear about this.'”

"OMG, I think I just saw osama lol #terrorism"

Meyers’ discovery was re-tweeted over a thousand times, and it became a trending topic worldwide within several minutes. “I was so happy to finally be recognized. My 5 followers usually don’t respond this way when I tweet about what I ate for lunch, or when I complain about Apple products.”

The United States Department of Homeland Security eventually got the news via its Twitter account, but not in time to apprehend Bin Laden. “It was just so unexpected,” said a representative, “we try to keep an eye on Twitter, but we have to weed through all the people talking about the new Feist album or how much they love Justin Beiber. This is the first important thing that has ever come up.”

Meyers currently has 400 000 followers who will be informed every time he eats a sandwich.

-RS

No comments yet

Leave a comment